UQG Optics

History to Present
1955
Mr Charles Biggs founded ‘The Universal Quartz Grinding Company’ setting up in Shelford, Cambridge. His skills where originally developed from experience in lapping and polishing of quartz crystals for aircraft communication during the war. He concentrated on plano polished windows and substrates, supplying to the local scientific community and universities.

1962
Mr Colin Biggs joined his father and formed a partnership expanding their range of optical materials and glass products.

1974
Mr Ray Harris joined UQG and headed a larger production team that led to new premises in Comberton, Cambridge.

1980
UQG moved to a new factory and offices near the Cambridge Science Park, investing in a new optical fabrication machines and quality control department.

1988
Mr Kelvin Biggs joined the company gaining experience in optical engineering and production and is now the Sales/Managing Director.

1990
Throughout the 1990’s production grew at a steady pace and invested in new technology of over £250,000 in high speed polishing/lapping and cutting equipment. This keeps UQG at the forefront of optical manufacturing, delivering a quality competitive product.

2005
UQG celebrates 50 years of supplying science and industry by launching a new brochure and website showing their range of standard and custom made products and services.

2010
The company implements and achieves ISO 9001:2008 certification and invests in new machines to increase and keep up  production.  The UQG website is re launched with our  new logo. The online product stock range increased with new products and size range.
Mr Charles Biggs
Mr Charles Biggs
Founder (1910- 1984)
Mr Colin Biggs
Mr Colin Biggs
Chairman
Mr Kelvin Biggs
Mr Kelvin Biggs
Sales & Managing Director
Mr Ray Harris
Ray Harris
Sales & Production Manager